Jun 10 – 14, 2024
Institute for Theoretical Physics
Europe/Berlin timezone

Quantum field theory provides the mathematical framework for
describing fundamental interactions in particle physics, but its
formalism finds application also in condensed matter and statistical
physics, and it provides a bridge towards beautiful mathematics,
including combinatorics, geometry and probability theory.

This workshop aims at bringing together researchers working on
different aspects of QFT, such as the renormalization group,
conformal field theory, resurgence, constructive field theory, 
integrability, combinatorics, and more.
While there will be no attempt at completeness, as the list of
developments in the topic is huge, the goal is to assemble a small
but representative group of researchers in order to provide
participants with a bird's-eye view on some recent advances and
current trends in QFT.

Note: The Philosophenweg (Philosopher’s trail) is a path on the
northern side of the Neckar, with scenic views of Heidelberg’s old
town and castle.  It takes its name from the "philosophers",
professors at the university, who used to enjoy a walk along the
path. Nowadays, theoretical physicists have taken over, with the ITP
being located in two beautiful villas on Philosophenweg, one of which
will host the workshop. 

Preliminary list of speakers

  • Alicia Castro (University of Bordeaux)
  • Olalla Castro Alvaredo (City,  University of London)
  • Nguyen Viet Dang (IMJ-PRG, Sorbonne University)
  • Nicolò Defenu (ETH, Zürich)
  • Sabine Harribey (Nordita) 
  • Hannes Keppler (University of Heidelberg)
  • Igor Klebanov (IAS, Princeton)
  • Sandra Klevansky (University of Heidelberg)
  • Davide Lettera (University of Heidelberg)
  • Thomas Muller (University of Bordeaux)
  • Erik Panzer (Oxford University)
  • Anastasios Petkou (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)
  • Carlos Pérez Sánchez (University of Heidelberg)
  • Shouryya Ray (University of Southern Denmark)
  • Vladimir Rosenhaus (City University of New York) 
  • Manfred Salmhofer (University of Heidelberg)
  • Raoul Santachiara  (Paris-Saclay)
  • Ricardo Schiappa (Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisboa) 
  • Marco Serone (SISSA, Trieste)
  • Andreas Stergiou (King's College, London)
  • Bo Sundborg (Stockholm University)
  • Matthieu Tissier (LPTMC, Sorbonne University)
  • Reiko Toriumi (OIST, Okinawa)
  • Stefan Weinzierl (University of Mainz)
  • Raimar Wulkenhaar (University of Münster)




Here is the Privacy policy of Heidelberg University, who hosts this site. 

Header image from Folger Shakespeare Library, CC-BY-4.0.  


Institute for Theoretical Physics
Philosophenweg 19 69120 Heidelberg, Germany